National Coalition of Homeless Veterans
Sign up for the NCHV Newsletter Coalition Call Twitter Facebook

Stand Down

Copy-of-announcments-TWITTER-3

The original Stand Down for homeless veterans was modeled after the Stand Down concept used during the Vietnam War to provide a safe retreat for units returning from combat operations. At secure base camp areas, troops were able to take care of personal hygiene, get clean uniforms, enjoy warm meals, receive medical and dental care, mail and receive letters, and enjoy the camaraderie of friends in a safe environment. Stand Down afforded battle-weary soldiers the opportunity to renew their spirit, health and overall sense of well-being.

That is the purpose of the Stand Down for homeless veterans, and achieving those objectives requires a wide range of support services and time. The program is successful because it brings these services to one location, making them more accessible to homeless veterans.

In July 2002, the founders of Stand Down – Robert Van Keuren, Dr. Jon Nachison and Vietnam Veterans of San Diego – asked the National Coalition for Homeless Veterans (NCHV) to become the “keeper of the flame” and provide national leadership for the movement. Since the first Stand Down in San Diego in 1988, the program has become recognized as the most valuable outreach tool to help homeless veterans in the nation today.

FY 2016-2017 DOL-VETS Stand Down Funding Notice

Stand Down Guide
Information about the history of Stand Down, essential program components, event classifications, and how to organize and develop a Stand Down program for your community.

Stand Down Overview
Brief document that highlights Stand Down's background, desired outcomes, development models and services and offers possible partners and funding resources.

Stand Down Promising Practices
This Promising Practices Guide contains experience, guidance, and best practices condensed from 20 surveys completed by expert organizations that serve as the heartbeat of Stand Down events throughout the year. This guide offers a snapshot of how several successful HVRP grantees and their partners working in employment services have been able to develop and execute Stand Down events across the country.

Stand Down Dates and Timelines
Brief document describing the basic timeline for hosting a Stand Down, from responding to the Federal Register Notice to submitting reports.

Stand Down Allowable and Unallowable Expenses
A current list of what expenses are allowable using federal funding, and what expenses are unallowed.

Taking the Court to Stand Down

2016 Stand Down Notice of Proposed Event Form
To include your Stand Down event in the national registry and NCHV’s newsletter and website, please complete the 2016 Stand Down Notice of Proposed Event Form and e-mail it to info@nchv.org or fax it to (202) 546-2063 or (888) 233-8582.

After Action Report
Once your event has concluded please fill out the After Action Report. The information on this form is used by NCHV and the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs to compile an annual report on Stand Down programs that provide outreach and supportive services to homeless veterans. If you have questions or need assistance with this report, contact info@nchv.org or (202) 546-1969.


Your local VA Stand Down contact has instructions available to service providers regarding requesting DOD surplus for Stand Down events. Please contact them for further information and guidance.

2014 Stand Down Notice of Proposed Event Form (Archive)

2015 Stand Down Notice of Proposed Event Form (Archive)

2016 Stand Down Notice of Proposed Event Form

To have your Stand Down information listed on our website, please download and fill out the above 2016 Stand Down Notice of Proposed Event Form.

Please continue to check back for newly posted Stand Downs. 

 

Date

City

State

Primary Contact

Alternate Contact

April 29, 2021

Franklin

NC

Cole Drewes
(828) 575-7835
Russell.Drewes@va.gov

Howard Anderson
(828) 298-7911, x5335
Howard.Anderson@va.gov

 

May 8, 2021

 Racine

WI

Zachary Zdroik
(262) 638-6702
Zachary.Zdroik@racinecounty.com

Shawn Rivers
(262) 638-6702
Shawn.Rivers@racinecounty.com

 

May 14, 2021

Decatur

IL

Thomas Nguyen
(217) 516-1875
Thomas.Nguyen7@va.gov

John Buckles
(217) 372-6629
John.Buckles@usc.salvationarmy.org

 

 May 14, 2021

 Elkhart

IN

Amy Sczerbowicz
(800) 360-8387, x71622
Amy.Sczerbowicz@va.gov

Jill Powers
(574) 400-5487
jpowers@goodwill-ni.org

 

 

May 14, 2021

Port Arthur

TX

Belinda Richard
(409) 347-0124
Belinda.Richard@va.gov

Lewis Harris
(409) 347-0124
Lewis.Harris2@va.gov

 

May, 22, 2021

 Kalispell

MT

Dennis Hanson
(406) 447-6045
Dennis.Hanson2@va.gov

Allen Erickson
(406) 756-7304
allen@veteransfoodpantry.org

 

June 4, 2021

South Bend

IN

Amy Sczerbowicz
(800) 360-8387, x71622
Amy.Sczerbowicz@va.gov

Jill Powers
(574) 400-5487
jpowers@goodwill-ni.org

 

June 18, 2021

Worcester

MA

Stephen Gagnon
(413) 588-8820
Stephen.Gagnon@va.gov

Sherry Callahan
(508) 791-1213, x1154
sherrycallahan@veteransinc.org

 

July 17, 2021

Newport

WA

Charlie Duranona
(509) 319-7067
Charles.Duranona@va.gov

Brad Hanson
(509) 447-3812
hhseniorcenter@gmail.com

 

July 23, 2021

 Orange

TX

Belinda Richard
(409) 347-0124
Belinda.Richard@va.gov

Lewis Harris
(409) 347-0124
Lewis.Harris2@va.gov

 

July 23, 2021

Warsaw

IN

Amy Sczerbowicz
(800) 360-8387, x71622
Amy.Sczerbowicz@va.gov

Jill Powers
(574) 400-5487
jpowers@goodwill-ni.org

 

Aug 26-27, 2021

 Chicago

IL

Donald Donahue
(708) 202-4952
Donald.Donahue@va.gov

Brian McLaughlin
(708) 457-8805
Brian.McLaughlin2@va.gov

 

Sept 9-11, 2021

Marysville

CA

Tristan Ring
(925) 372-2455
Tristan.Ring@va.gov

Michael Nichols
(530) 749-1036
nichols.mikea@comcast.net

 

Sept 10-13, 2021

 Antioch

CA

Tristan Ring
(925) 372-2455
Tristan.Ring@va.gov

Gerald "J.R." Wilson
(925) 222-7596
geraldwilson1971@gmail.com

 

Sept 10, 2021

Rapid City

SD

Jamison Hild
(605) 490-8587
Jamison.Hild@va.gov

Christy Kitzelman
(605) 490-0029
Christel.Kitzelman@va.gov

 

Sept 14, 2021

Savannah

GA

Ruth Keith
(912) 920-0214, x2100
Ruth.Keith@va.gov

Ukia Sims
(912) 920-0214, x2086
Ukia.Sims@va.gov

 

Sept 17-19, 2021

Des Moines

IA

David Rowell
(515) 242-4666
David.Rowell2@va.gov

Paulette Anderson
(515) 783-9741
Panderson515@aol.com

 

Sept 17-18, 2021

 Johnston

RI

Elizabeth Johnson
(401) 255-0859
Elizabeth.Johnson6@va.gov

William Jamieson
(401) 383-4730
WJamieson@osdri.org

 

Sept 24, 2021

Beaumont

TX

Belinda Richard
(409) 347-0124
Belinda.Richard@va.gov

Lewis Harris
(409) 347-0124
Lewis.Harris2@va.gov

 

Sept 24, 2021

Myrtle Beach

SC

Scott Perez
(843) 940-0850
Scott.Perez@va.gov

Walter Gibbins
(843) 952-4262
Walter.Gibbins@va.gov

 

Sept 25, 2021

Moses Lake

WA

Kevin Copelin
(509) 319-5332
Kevin.Copelin@va.gov

Jerry Gingrich
(509) 754-2011, x2931
jtgingrich@grantcountywa.gov

 

 Oct 2-3, 2021

Libby

MT

Kevin Copelin
(509) 319-5332
Kevin.Copelin@va.gov

Allen Erickson
(406) 756-7304
allen@veteransfoodpantry.org

 

Oct 16, 2021

Santa

Maria

CA

George Moran
(805) 782-9101
George.Moran@va.gov

Sandy Agalos
(805) 346-8402
sandy.agalos@gmail.com

 

 Oct 21, 2021

Allegan

MI

John Koch
(616) 356-1746
John.Koch3@va.gov

Amanda Briggs
(616) 356-1746
Amanda.Briggs@va.gov

 

Oct 21-23, 2021

Anderson

CA

Joshua Roberts
(530) 515-9670
Joshua.Roberts@va.gov

Terry Mikesell
(530) 221-6248
stevebow@c-zone.net

                   

 


1730 M Street NW, Suite 705  |  Washington, DC  |  20036  |  t-f. 1.800.VET.HELP  |  v. 202.546.1969  |  f. 202.546.2063  |  info@nchv.org